About Bloc Party

Bloc Party is an English rock band formed in 2002 in London. The group’s current members composed of Kele Okereke (lead vocals, rhythm guitar, sampler), Russell Lissack (lead guitar, sampler, synthesizer, backing vocals, programming) and Gordon Moakes (bass guitar, backing vocals, keyboard, glockenspiel). Former group member is Matt Tong (drums, percussion, backing vocals).

The group originally started with the name “The Angel Rage Diet” and “Union” formed by Okereke and Lissack, then in 2003 finally changed the name to “Block Party” which is actually a name for an informal neighborhood festival.

The group was able to release a total of 5 albums. Their debut album is “Silent Alarm” (2005) which received widespread compliment. It also broke sales record and was also voted by NME critics as the 2005 album of the year. It also reached number three in UK album charts. The second album “ A Weekend in the City” (2007) was the band’s second released album which got to Number One on the Independent Albums chart and Number twelve on the Billboard 200. This album sold 48,000 copies as well. On the other hand, third released album “Intimacy” (2008) was ranked number eight to the UK albums charts and number eighteen on the Billboard 200. The fourth album “Four” (2012) was included as number three in UK albums chart and their fifth released album is titled “Bloc Party Tapes” (2013).

Some of their singles also made it to the Billboard. “This Modern Love” which was the group’s debut song appeared on the final episode of the 1st season of the well known sitcom “How I Met Your Brother”. The single “I Still Remember” (Hot Modern Rock Tracks) was featured on three episodes of the hit TV series “The O.C” as well as in the movie “Prom Night”. On the other hand, the single “So Here We Are/ Positive Tension” made the top 5 on the UK top 40 charts. “Two More Years” (European Hot 100 Singles), “Helicopter” (Hot Dance Single Sales) and “Octopus” (Japan Hot 100 Singles) and is the first single on the fourth album “Four”.

During their recording career, the band was able to receive various nominations from different awarding institution. In 2006, they won the Indie Album of the Year for Silent Alarm, given by PLUG Independent Music Awards.

100% Buyer Guarantee

Full refund for cancelled events.

Valid tickets in time for the event.

Prices are set by sellers and may be above or below face value. All sales are final.